Feilim Mac Gabhann

Feilim Mac Gabhann is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, and a core faculty member of the Institute for Computational Medicine, at Johns Hopkins University.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from University College Dublin in 1997, and a PhD in Biomedical Engineering from Johns Hopkins University in 2006. Following a Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Cardiovascular Research Center at the University of Virginia, he joined the faculty of Johns Hopkins in 2009.

His lab develops computational models of systems pharmacology – in particular, building models with high levels of detail in mechanism of action, and applying them to simulate different therapies including small molecule drugs, biologics, gene therapy, and cell transplants. His lab applies this research to improve therapies in a multiple disease areas, including peripheral artery disease, cancer, HIV, and gynecological disorders. His research is supported by the multiple institutes of the National Institutes of Health, including NHLBI, NIGMS, and NIAID.

Feilim has served as an Editorial Board member for PLOS Computational Biology for eight years, as Associate Editor, Deputy Editor, and Deputy-Editor-in-Chief.

Feilim currently serves as the director of Johns Hopkins' Doctoral Training Program in Biomedical Engineering, and previously served as the first director of Johns Hopkins' Office for Undergraduate Research. He has received the 2019 Career Champion award, the 2016 William H. Huggins Excellence in Teaching Award, and a 2015 Catalyst Award for research from his home institution. National awards include the American Physiological Society Arthur C. Guyton Award for Excellence in Integrative Physiology (2012), Sloan Research Fellowship (2012), the Microcirculatory Society August Krogh Young Investigator Award (2010), and the NIH Pathway to Independence Award (2008).

Jason Papin

Jason Papin is a Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Virginia.

After his training in Bioengineering at the University of California, San Diego, Jason Papin joined the faculty at the University of Virginia in 2005.

His lab works on problems in systems biology, metabolic network analysis, infectious disease, toxicology, and cancer, developing computational approaches for integrating high-throughput data into predictive computational models. He manages a lab with both experimental and computational activities and his research group has had continuous support with funding from the National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation (including as a CAREER award recipient), Department of Defense, Department of Energy, and several private foundations and companies. Jason is an elected fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering.

Jason has served as an Associate Editor, Deputy Editor, and Deputy-Editor-in-Chief of PLOS Computational Biology as well as on the editorial board of other journals in the field of computational biology. His service to the scientific community also includes effort as an elected member of the Board of Directors of the Biomedical Engineering Society, as a standing member of the Biodata Management and Analysis (BDMA) NIH study section, and numerous other review panels of federal funding agencies.

His teaching and mentoring have been recognized with receipt of awards for “Excellence in Biomedical Engineering Undergraduate Education” and he currently serves as the director of the Biomedical Engineering graduate program at the University of Virginia.

Jason’s work also bridges the basic-translational axis with recognition as an inventor on several disclosures of intellectual property, in addition to consulting with multiple biotechnology companies. 

Philip E. Bourne

Founding Editor-in-Chief

Philip E. Bourne is the Stephenson Chair of Data Science, Director of the Data Science Institute, and a Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Virginia. Previously he was Associate Director for Data Science at the National Institutes of Health, Associate Vice Chancellor for Innovation and Industrial Alliances and a Professor in the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of California San Diego, Associate Director of the RCSB Protein Data Bank (PDB), Senior Advisor to the Life Sciences at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC), and an Adjunct Professor at the Sanford Burnham Institute.

Philip E. Bourne received his Ph.D. in chemistry from the Flinders University of South Australia in 1980. In the early 80's he was a postdoctoral fellow in structural biology, first at the University of Sheffield, UK and later at Columbia University, New York. During the late 80's as first the Director of the Columbia University Cancer Center Computer Facility and later as Director of the Medical School Computer Facility he worked in computational biology and medical informatics. In the early 90's he joined the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and worked on developing high performance hardware and software for computational structural biology. He moved to the University of California San Diego in 1995 to work on structural bioinformatics. His current research interests are in structural genomics, the structural basis of evolution, immunology, apoptosis, cell signaling, and drug discovery, while developing new methods for data and knowledge modeling, scientific visualization and scholarly communication.

Philip E. Bourne is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the International Society of Computational Biology (ISCB), and the American Medical Informatics Association and past President of the International Society for Computational Biology. He is the author of over 300 scientific papers and author of 4 books, including text books in structural bioinformatics and pharmacy informatics. He has received two UCSD Connect Awards for new inventions in the areas of comparative protein structure analysis and shared visualization. He was the recipient of the 2002 Sun Microsystems Convergence Award and the 2004 Convocation Medal for career achievement from his graduate university. Most recently he was the recipient of the 2009 Benjamin Franklin Award and 2010 Jim Gray eScience Award for his service to open science. He has co-founded four companies, including