About the Authors

Manica Balasegaram

Affiliation Médecins Sans Frontières, Geneva, Switzerland

Peter Kolb

Affiliation Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Philipps-University Marburg, Marburg, Germany

John McKew

Current address: Lumo Pharma, Austin, Texas, United States of America

Affiliation National Institutes of Health, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), Bethesda, Maryland, United States of America

Jaykumar Menon

Affiliation McGill University Institute for the Study of International Development, Montreal, Canada

Piero Olliaro

Affiliations UNICEF/UNDP/World Bank/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR), World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland, Centre for Tropical Medicine and Global Health, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom

Tomasz Sablinski

Affiliation Transparency Life Sciences, New York, New York, United States of America

Zakir Thomas

Current address: Directorate of Risk Assessment, Government of India, New Delhi, India

Affiliation Open Source Drug Discovery, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), New Delhi, India

Matthew H. Todd


Affiliation School of Chemistry, The University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Els Torreele

Affiliation Public Health Program, Open Society Foundations, New York, New York, United States of America

John Wilbanks

Affiliation Sage Bionetworks, Seattle, Washington, United States of America

Competing Interests

TS is CEO and founder of Transparency Life Sciences and an employee of Auven Therapeutics, as well as owning equity in biotech companies. JM and MHT were members of a group that received a grant from Tata Trusts (India) in 2015 to establish the Open Source Pharma Foundation, a not-for-profit agency working in India to support open source drug discovery initiatives worldwide, in part by advocating the potential public health benefits of such initiatives. The Foundation was formally created in 2016 but has not at the time of writing begun operations. ZT was Project Director of the Open Source Drug Discovery Project, CSIR, India. MHT is founder of the Open Source Malaria Consortium. These are non-profit, government-led initiatives pursuing open models of drug discovery and development.