About the Authors

The PLOS Medicine Editors


Affiliation Public Library of Science, San Francisco, California, United States of America

Andrew Beck

Affiliation Department of Pathology, Harvard Medical School, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts, United States of America

Ewan Birney

Affiliation Joint Director, European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, United Kingdom

Manuel Graeber

Affiliation Neuropathologist and Director, Brain Tumour Research, University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia

James Tumwine

Affiliation Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health, School of Medicine, Makerere University, College of Health Sciences, Kampala, Uganda

Phillipa Hay

Affiliation School of Medicine, University of Western Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Hyeong Sik Ahn

Affiliation Department of Preventive Medicine, College of Medicine, Korea University, Seoul, Korea

Anushka Patel

Affiliation The George Institute for Global Health, University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Philipp du Cros

Affiliation Head of the Manson Unit, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF), London, United Kingdom

Lorenz von Seidlein

Affiliation Mahidol-Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit (MORU), Mahidol University, Bangkok, Thailand

Nick Wareham

Affiliation MRC Epidemiology Unit, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom

Nicola Low

Affiliation Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern, Bern, Switzerland

Competing Interests

The following authors have no competing interests to declare: HSA, NW. The PLOS Medicine Editors' individual competing interests are at http://www.plosmedicine.org/static/edito​rsInterests.action. PLOS is funded partly through manuscript publication charges, but the PLOS Medicine Editors are paid a fixed salary (their salaries are not linked to the number of papers published in the journal). EB is a paid consultant to Oxford Nanopore. PdC is a member of the Steering Committee for TB-PRACTECAL, a randomised control trial, and a member of the European Technical Advisory Group on Tuberculosis Control. LvS, AP, JT, PH, MG, NL, AB are all members of the PLOS Medicine Editorial Board.

Author Contributions

Wrote the first draft of the manuscript: TM LvS AP JT PH MG NL AB HSA NW EB PdC. Contributed to the writing of the manuscript: CG TM LN SP LP PS LvS AP JT PH MG NL AB HSA NW EB PdC. Agree with the manuscript’s results and conclusions: CG TM LN SP LP PS LvS AP JT PH MG NL AB HSA NW EB PdC. All authors have read, and confirm that they meet, ICMJE criteria for authorship.