About the Authors

Estrella Lasry-Levy, Diana N. J. Lockwood
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London, United Kingdom

Aki Hietaharju
Department of Neurology, Tampere University Hospital, Tampere, Finland

Vivek Pai, Ramaswamy Ganapati
Bombay Leprosy Project, Sion Chunabhatti, Mumbai, India

Andrew S. C. Rice
Department of Anaesthetics, Pain Medicine & Intensive Care, Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College, London, United Kingdom

Maija Haanpää
Department of Neurosurgery, Helsinki University Hospital, Helsinki, Finland

Maija Haanpää
ORTON Rehabilitation, Helsinki, Finland

Corresponding Author


Competing Interests

In the last 12 months Aki Hietaharju has been a member of Pfizer Medical Advisory Board (one meeting). In the last 12 months Aki Hietaharju has received consultancy fees and expenses from Pfizer, Orion, Bayer Schering, Octapharma, Boehringer Ingelheim, Baxter, Shire, UCB Pharma and Roche. In the last 12 months Andrew Rice has received consultancy fees and expenses contracted via Imperial College Consultants from: Pfizer, Eisai, Spinifex, Astellas, Allergan, NeuroGsx, Daiichi Sankyo and GlaxoSmithKline. In the last 12 months Andrew Rice has received research funding from Pfizer and Spinifex. Andrew Rice is a member of the EU research collaboration Innovative Medicines Initiative “Europain”. Industry partners in this grant are: Pfizer, Esteve, GlaxoSmithKline, Astra Zeneca, Boehringer Ingelheim, UCB Pharma, Wyeth, Eli Lilly and Sanofi-Aventis.

Author Contributions

Conceived and designed the experiments: ELL AH DNJL. Performed the experiments: ELL VP RG. Analyzed the data: ELL. Wrote the paper: ELL AH VP RG ASCR MH DNJL. Provided neuropathic pain expertise and counselling: AH ASCR MH.