About the Authors

Gail E Henderson

To whom correspondence should be addressed. E-mail: ghenders@med.unc.edu

Larry R Churchill
Arlene M Davis
Michele M Easter
Christine Grady
Steven Joffe
Nancy Kass
Nancy M. P King
Charles W Lidz
Franklin G Miller
Daniel K Nelson
Jeffrey Peppercorn
Barbra Bluestone Rothschild
Pamela Sankar
Benjamin S Wilfond
Catherine R Zimmer

Competing Interests

The authors have declared that no competing interests exist.

Author Contributions

GEH, LRC, AMD, NMPK, DKN, BBR, BSW, and CRZ were co-investigators on the R01 HG 02087 grant that provided the impetus for the consensus workshop. All authors participated in the workshop on which the paper is based and were actively involved in the development of the arguments from start to finish. GEH, MME, and CRZ organized the consensus group meeting, collected information on the definition of TM, and in collaboration with the other authors, developed the definition of TM and its derived dimensions that are presented in the paper.