About the Authors

Derrick E Fouts, Emmanuel F Mongodin, David A Rasko, Jacques Ravel, Lauren M Brinkac, Robert T DeBoy, Sean C Daugherty, Robert J Dodson, A. Scott Durkin, Ramana Madupu, Steven A Sullivan, Jyoti U Shetty, Mobolanle A Ayodeji, Alla Shvartsbeyn, Michael C Schatz, Jonathan H Badger, Claire M Fraser, Karen E Nelson
The Institute for Genomic Research, Rockville, Maryland, United States of America

Robert E Mandrell, William G Miller, Craig T Parker
Produce Safety and Microbiology Research Unit, Agricultural Research Service, United States Department of Agriculture, Albany, California, United States of America

Corresponding Author


Competing Interests

The authors have declared that no competing interests exist.

Author Contributions

DEF, EFM, REM, WGM, MCS, JHB, and KEN conceived and designed the experiments. DEF, EFM, WGM, JUS, MAA, and AS performed the experiments. DEF, EFM, WGH, DAR, JR, LMB, RTD, CTP, SCD, RJD, ASD, RM, SAS, JUS, MCS, JHB, and KEN analyzed the data. DEF, EFM, REM, WGM, DAR, JR, LMB, RTD, CTP, JUS, MAA, AS, MCS, JHB, CMF, and KEN contributed reagents/materials/analysis tools. DEF, EFM, REM, WGM, DAR, RTD, CTP, MCS, JHB, and KEN wrote the paper.